The South African National Qualifications Framework

The National Qualifications Framework Act 67 of 2008 provides for the National Qualifications Framework (NQF). The NQF is a comprehensive system, approved by the Minister of Higher Education and Training, for the classification, registration and publication of articulated and quality-assured national qualifications and part-qualifications.

The South African NQF is a single integrated system comprising three co-ordinated qualifications Sub-Frameworks for General and further Education and Training, Higher Education and Trades and Occupations.

Objectives of the NQF

The objectives of the NQF are to:

  1. Create a single integrated national framework for learning achievements;
  2. Facilitate access to, and mobility and progression within, education, training and career paths;
  3. Enhance the quality of education and training;
  4. Accelerate the redress of past unfair discrimination in education, training and employment opportunities.

The objectives of the NQF are designed to contribute to the full personal development of each learner and the social and economic development of the nation at large.


The South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) was established by Parliament to:

  1. Advance the objectives of the NQF;
  2. Oversee the further development and implementation of the NQF;
  3. Co-ordinate the Sub-Frameworks.

Source: SAQA: Information sourced from the SAQA website and was correct at the time of publication.